Washington State House Republicans elect Rep. Drew Stokesbary as Floor Leader

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

CONTACT: Nick Jacob, Senior Public Information Officer for Reps. Drew Stokesbary, J.T. Wilcox and Drew MacEwen | 360-786-5097
John Sattgast, Senior Public Information Officer for Rep. Dan Kristiansen | 360-786-7257

Washington State House Republicans elect Rep. Drew Stokesbary as Floor Leader

Washington State House Republicans have elected Rep. Drew Stokesbary to be their new Floor Leader. He replaces Rep. J.T. Wilcox, who was elected as the new Republican Leader after Rep. Dan Kristiansen stepped down and announced he would not run for re-election in November.

The floor leader is responsible for developing and implementing strategies for floor debate as well as creating plans to move forward legislative policies supported by the caucus.

“I am honored to serve as the Floor Leader for the House Republican Caucus and grateful that my colleagues have entrusted me with this leadership position,” said Stokesbary, R-Auburn. “I will continue working with the Assistant Floor Leaders and other caucus members to organize and manage the floor debate in order to represent our constituents' views and advance House Republicans' priorities of creating first-class education opportunities for students, improving our economy for all Washingtonians, and protecting and empowering the most vulnerable among us.”

Stokesbary was first elected state representative of the 31st Legislative District in 2014. He serves on the House Appropriations, Finance and Education committees.

Stokesbary earned bachelor's degree from Duke University, studying economics and mathematics. He went on to Notre Dame Law School, where he graduated cum laude.  He is admitted to the Washington State Bar and practices law in Sumner.

Stokesbary is a native Washingtonian and resides with his family in Auburn. He and his wife Ashley have two sons, ages two and three.

Rep. Drew MacEwen, R-Union, was elected to replace Stokesbary as an assistant floor leader.

The House Republican Leadership Team is as follows (*new changes):

*Rep. J.T. Wilcox 2nd Legislative District (Yelm) | Leader
Rep. Joel Kretz 7th Legislative District (Wauconda) | Deputy Leader
Rep. Matt Shea 4th Legislative District (Spokane Valley) | Caucus Chair
Rep. Joe Schmick 9th Legislative District (Colfax) | Caucus Vice Chair
*Rep. Drew Stokesbary 31st Legislative District (Auburn) | Floor Leader
*Rep. Drew MacEwen 35th Legislative District (Union) | Assistant Floor Leader
Rep. Joyce McDonald 25th Legislative District (Puyallup) | Assistant Floor Leader
Rep. Dave Hayes 10th Legislative District (Camano Island) | Whip
Rep. Dan Griffey 35th Legislative District (Allyn) | Assistant Whip
Rep. Bill Jenkin 16th Legislative District (Prosser) | Assistant Whip
Rep. Vicki Kraft 17th Legislative District (Vancouver) | Assistant Whip

The Legislature adjourned March 8.


Washington State House Republican Communications